CMS Approves Medicaid Section 1135 Waivers for 11 States to Fight COVID-19

CMS approved an additional 11 state Medicaid waiver requests under Section 1135 of the Social Security Act (Act), bringing the total number of approved Section 1135 waivers for states to 13. Last week, CMS approved COVID-19 related state Medicaid section 1135 waiver requests for Florida and Washington. On March 13, 2020, President Trump declared the rapidly evolving COVID-19 situation a national emergency, enabling CMS to waive certain requirements in Medicare, Medicaid, and CHIP under section 1135 emergency authority.

These waivers provide relief on a number of fronts, such as prior authorization and provider enrollment requirements, suspending certain nursing home pre-admission reviews, and facilitating reimbursement to providers for care delivered in alternative settings due to facility evacuations.

These section 1135 waivers are effective March 1, 2020 and will end upon termination of the public health emergency, including any extensions.

The approved waivers include the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Illinois
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Virginia

Click here to read the press release from CMS.